Skip to content

Hello world!

May 30, 2011

Hello, hello… and, hello again… this is my very first attempt at blogging.. so, while I bear with myself.. I’d request you to do the same. Plunging in headlong, I’d start with the tangible here and now, to keep the going easy. Have just returned from Himachal… where, off the beaten track, one actually gets to quietly revel in picturesque Himalayan scapes… the works: from snow capped peaks to deep ravines, from awareness of global warming to a people locked in time.

As for the apparent differences I encountered: the higher secondary students don’t seem to be afflicted be furious studies, while, in southern India… the staggering emphasis on Education, implies hoardings of coaching institutions proclaiming marvelous results, so on. Recalling the commuting through the winding roads, the other aspects of Himachal road transport which stand out would have to be an ungrudging admiration for the drivers… who do a splendid job. You can take this as a certification from a pro… coz, since early childhood, I’ve had the opportunity and undiminished interest to watch drivers at work… so much so, that when I eventually took to it, ironically, late in life… it was like fish to water. So, typically, I opt for the seat beside the driver’, enjoying the road, the driving… what’s more, even the music… one, even had akon alternating with local folk songs! While, another featured an antique movie on an equally antiquated television set. One surprising feature was to come across signage in Hebrew! While travelling through a remote village… window displays of bakeries, internet cafes, etc.

What else to blog about?! Suddenly, unsurprisingly, reading seems sooo much easier than writing! Rest for next…

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 4:54 am

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. G Vishwanath permalink
    May 31, 2011 7:21 am

    Welcome, Anita, to the world of blogs.
    It was nice to read about you at IHM’s blog.
    I hope to have the privilege of being the first to comment.

    I can’t join your expedition to Leh of course.
    You have disqualified me (Gender discrimination?)

    I used to be biker in the good old days (1970s and early 1980s)
    Yezdi and later Bullet were my bikes.
    I soon outgrew them and was sorry to do so.

    After driving cars (Premier Padmini and Wagon R) for the next 25 years, today I have disposed of all my petrol cars and am a proud owner and driver of India’s only Electric Car (The Reva) since 2008 January.
    I would be glad to write about my experiences with this vehicle, if there is anybody interested.

    All the best to all the ladies who join the expedition.

    I look forward to more blog posts from you describing your experiences.
    And yes, do include as many pictures as possible.
    Regards and best wishes
    GV

  3. May 31, 2011 8:31 am

    Hi Anita ..i am so glad i got to know you !!
    And i am even more happy to see you as a blogger here…hoping for your adventures to motivate me more 🙂

  4. May 31, 2011 4:57 pm

    Here from Ihm’s blog… !!!! I am another one of that Manali fans… I guess life is certainly better in Himachal than in Gujarat !!!

    It would be great to follow your blog with you travelling so much and interacting with so many people… !! !

    Infact I and my wife are associated with a trekking group that has been in Manali since ages now… Anala ! maybe you have heard of it…

  5. June 2, 2011 3:12 am

    Hi!

    Dropped by from IHM’s blog. Your travels sounds very interesting, though my interest is more of the arm chair variety. Looking forward to hearing more. Congratulations on the new blog….it is a wonderful journey too! 😀

  6. Shilpi Banerjee permalink
    August 16, 2011 1:58 am

    Hi Anita, Wishing you all success on the Kulu-Leh expedition…. Amazed to read of your expeditions… way to go!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Can you imagine a Women Bloggers’ Meet in Leh? « The Life and Times of an Indian Homemaker

Leave a Reply

